December 2014 Ex. Director’s Update

Posted on December 4, 2014


December IAPSS Newsletter

Dr. J. T. Coopman, Executive Director



With Fall IAPSS District meetings completed, I want to thank our district chairs for all their efforts in planning the details for these meetings. As always, the meals were wonderful, the facilities superb, but more importantly, the opportunity for professional development and collegial support was evident.

With the annual IAPSS conference just around the corner with the theme: “New Frontiers: To Boldly Go Where No School Has Gone Before”, our thanks go Dr. Jeff Hendrix and our professional development committee for their excellent work on putting together three days of powerful professional development kicked off by our keynote speaker, Dr. Will Richardson, one half day of Apple Leadership in Learning in a pre-conference workshop, and capped off by the very touching story of Rachel’s Challenge as presented by Darrell Scott.

Our thanks to our many generous sponsors for making our professional development a success and a reality.

Premier Partner – Performance Services

Business Partners – ENA, Ice Miller, City Securities, Umbaugh, Teacher’s Credit Union, Horace Mann, ForeCast 5, Strategic Value Media, Standard for Success, Jason Learning, CrisisGo, PTAI, and IT partner AME Group, and our breakfast sponsor, Shanahan and Shanahan.

We also need to thank all of our affiliate sponsors and especially our affiliate sponsors who donated to the President’s Reception and provided door prizes.

This year we were fortunate to have our inaugural Superintendent of the Year and President’s scholarships awarded by Horace Mann Insurance in the amount of $1500 each to attend the AASA National Education Conference in San Diego, and Horace Mann also provided $500 scholarships to one student from their respective school districts.

Our congratulations to all district Superintendents of the Year and our Indiana Superintendent of the Year, Dr. Rocky Killion, West Lafayette Community School Corporation Superintendent who will honored at the AASA National Conference in San Diego, February 28, 2015.

Wishing all Indiana School Leaders and their families a safe and joy filled holiday season. Thank you for your leadership and support of IAPSS.