May 2014 Executive Director’s Update

Posted on July 16, 2014

Executive Director – Dr. J. T. Coopman

I would like to thank all members who attended the IAPSS Spring District meetings and thank the district chairs for the preparations and time they put into arranging the meetings for each respective district throughout the state. We had a great turnout, although we had to plan around spring breaks and other activities common for very busy school leaders. We experienced snow to budding trees in our journey across the state for our district meetings.

In summary, the executive director provided association meeting updates that included information about New Superintendent’s Academy scheduled for October 9-10, 2014, March 19-20, 2015 and June 18-19, 2015 on the campus of Indiana University in a new partnership with Indiana University School of Educational Leadership; the Prospective Superintendent’s Meeting September 19, 2014 with a reminder that participants must be recommended by a superintendent; ISBA/IAPSS Fall Conference, September 15-16 at the Indianapolis Convention Center; the IAPSS Annual Meeting on December 7-9, 2014 at the Marriott East Hotel and Conference Center with the theme – “New Frontiers – Go Where No School Has Gone Before”.

We also provided information regarding each district’s responsibility to nominate their respective Superintendent of Year and Outstanding Educator. This information is being coordinated by each district chair and is due by July 1st to the IAPSS Offices. AASA recognizes each State Superintendent of Year at the National Education Conference which is scheduled to be held in San Diego, Ca February 25-27, 2015. This year marks the 150 year anniversary of AASA.

Encouragement was given to host a viewing of “Rise Above the Mark” which is a public school documentary put together by West Lafayette Superintendent Dr. Rocky Killion in support of public education.

We had very interesting and informative presentations provided by the Center for Education and Career Innovation (CECI), AdvancEd, and the Bicentennial Foundation of Indiana 2016. IAPSS thanks Claire Fidden-Green and her staff, Dr. Brad Balch and Dr. Leslie Ballard, and Mr. Chris Jenson for the time and talent to prepare high quality presentations for our school leaders.

Legislative updates were provided about recently enacted legislation pertaining to education in Indiana that included HB 1062, SB229, HB1004, and SB1. IAPSS thanks Jane Herndon, Ice Miller and Associates from Umbaugh for their contributions to these bills as they apply to schools and district leaders’ responsibilities.

Also, our thanks to Dr. Jeff Hendricks and the members of the professional development committee for an interesting and informative Spring Seminar April 16th presented by Canadian School Leader, George Couros. The professional development committee recently released a member survey to gauge interests for future professional development of our members. Remember, we exist to serve you.