October 2013 IAPSS Photo Gallery

Posted on July 17, 2014

On September 10th IAPSS held the 2013 New Superintends’ Workshop at the Embassy Suites (Downtown).
The following photos are from that day and the many presenters:

Welcome and overview of the day was given by IAPSS President Mary Roberson and Ex. Director Dr. J.T. Coopman

Information about the Indiana School Boards Association was provided by Dr. Frank Bush.

Information and current updates from the Indiana Educational Employment Relations Board was devlivered by Dr. Marlin Creasy.

Representing the Indiana State Board of Accounts was Ryan Preston, Supervisor of Audits.

The Indiana Association of School Business Officials was represented by their long time Executive Director Denny Costerison.

Follow lunch which was sponsored by the Teachers Credit Union which sponsored all of the days activities an update on AASA was given by Ryan Snoddy, who is member of the AASA Governing Board from Indiana.

An overview of the Hallmarks Assessment offered to all new superintendents was given by Mike Evans, CEO of CHORUS, Inc.

A panel of superintendents who have just completed their first year as superintendents was moderated by IAPSS President, Mary Roberson. Panel members from left to right were:  Kirk Booe, Covington Schools, Dr. Jeff Butts, Wayne Twp. Schools, Rob Moorehead, South Ripley Schools and Dr. Margaret Hoernemann, Avon Schools. The Theme of the panel was “This Is What I Learned in Year #1”

The day concluded with remarks from Indiana State Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz.

Preparations and arrangements for the day were made possible as always by Sherry and Lana.  Thanks ladies!

A group picture of all the new superintendents in attendance.  IAPSS wishes them every success and stands ready to be a resource to each of them.

At the Fall ISBA/IAPSS Conference on September 23rd the IAPSS 2014 Legislative and Policies and Resolution Priorities were adopted by the membership. The Legislative Priorities were presented by John Hunter, Chairman of the Legislative Committee and the Policy and Resolutions were presented by Mark Keen, Chairman of the Policy and Resolutions Committee.  Parlimentarian duties were performed by Steve Yager.

Ex. Director J.T. Coopman presided over the session.