From The Executive Director

Posted on December 18, 2017

iapss annual meeting 2017

The 2017 IAPSS Annual meeting was held at the Indianapolis Westin Hotel with Dr. Mike Schmoker as the keynote speaker. Several Indiana school superintendents prepared presentations along with staff members that were presented in breakout sessions. Other sessions included presentations from the Department of Workforce Development discussing plans for CTE in the future and a panel of legislators discussing current and future educational legislation. The conference concluded with updates from IDOE.

IAPSS honored Dr. James Freeland for his years of service and commitment to IAPSS as the Associate Director of Membership Services. At one point, Dr. Freeland took a leave of absence from his position as a professor at Purdue University to serve as the interim executive director for IAPSS. He has recently been instrumental in revamping the IAPSS newsletter and working with the communications committee on the webpage development and social media development. IAPSS thanks Dr. Freeland for his tireless efforts on behalf of IAPSS members and his years of service as an Indiana school leader.

The annual meeting banquet saw service awards presented to members with ten, twenty and the rare thirty years of service presented to Dr. Jim Freeland. Also, the district superintendents were provided their awards and video tribute. Dr. Wendy Robinson, Superintendent, Fort Wayne Community Schools, was honored as the Indiana Superintendent of the Year and will represent Indiana at the AASA National Education Conference in Nashville, TN in February. All district and the Indiana Superintendents of Year will be highlighted in future newsletters.

Dr. Jerry Thacker, Superintendent, Penn Harris Community School Corporation, was honored as the Outstanding Educator. Dr. Concetta Raimondi, retired superintendent and clinical professor in educational leadership, Indiana University, was honored with the Distinguished Service award. A special award was presented to retired Indiana Senator Luke Kenley as the IAPSS Citizen of the Year.

IAPSS thanks IAPSS vice president, John Hunter, Superintendent, Union Township Schools, Dr. Jeff Butts, Superintendent, MSD Wayne Twp. and IAPSS president, and Dr. Thomas Edington, Superintendent, Wawasee Community School Corporation and IAPSS president-elect for their leadership in developing and presiding over the 2017 IAPSS Annual Conference.

IAPSS thanks all members attending and to all our business partners and exhibitors for making this conference possible and one of the most successful in recent history. We cannot do it without you and your leadership and sponsorship.