From The Executive Director

Posted on October 18, 2017

IAPSS Executive Director’s October Newsletter

The IAPSS/ISBA Fall conference just concluded. The conference located at the Indianapolis convention center was a huge success that was well attended by Indiana school board members and superintendents. We had a record number of vendors with excellent exhibits for our members to view.

The General session keynote was presented by Dr. Gene Glass. His comments were about the interference of ALEC and big money affecting the plight of the nation’s public schools. Very interesting presentation with some interesting and thought-provoking facts.

ISBA honored Phyllis Lewis for 50 years of service as a board member in MSD Wayne Twp. Congratulations Phyllis. The outstanding boardsmanship award went to Mrs. Jane Troup for her service on the Goshen School board, and the Lorin A. Burt Outstanding Educator Award went to Superintendent Dennis Stockdale. IAPSS applauds the efforts of these individuals for their diligent efforts in promoting high quality public education.

Dr. Wendy Robinson, Superintendent, Fort Wayne Community School Corporation, was introduced as the Indiana Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Robinson will represent Indiana in the AASA national superintendent of the year competition at the National Education Conference in Nashville TN in February. Congratulations to Dr. Robinson.

The luncheon keynote was presented by Dr. Mark Elgart, President of AdvancEd. Dr. Elgart encouraged boards and superintendents to create a vision and plan for what education could and should be for today’s kindergarten students so they benefit from the plan by the time they graduate because of the rapid changes in today’s world. It is not about rote memory, but about learning how to access and harness knowledge.

The breakout sessions were presented by school boards and superintendents who had responded to RFP’s for presentations. The sessions were well attended and beneficial for understanding various facets of teaching and learning in Indiana schools. State Superintendent Dr. McCormick, also presented and relayed information about the Indiana ESSA plans as well information on Indiana’s new assessment plan. Many outstanding learning opportunities were shared for the benefit of the variety of audiences present.

We are now looking forward to the IAPSS Annual Conference, November 29, 30, December 1, 2017 at the Westin Hotel in downtown Indianapolis. The theme is Dream, Create, Inspire. The keynote speaker to kick off the conference will be renowned educator and researcher, Dr. Mike Schmoker. IAPSS thanks John Hunter, IAPSS Vice President, for his assistance in planning the conference. We are looking forward to hosting ALL IAPSS members and their guests for this year’s conference.